SavaPage caches group members for performance reasons. Therefore, when group membership changes at the source, it may not be immediately known in SavaPage. The membership cache is updated automatically according to the “Import new users overnight” option in the User Creation section, but can be also be refreshed manually at any time by a push on a button in the same section.
There are three built-in groups:
After a tap on the button in the main menu this panel is shown. See Section 4.2, “Menu”.
Built-in groups are depicted in orange. Press the add additional groups.button to
Each item in the list shows the number of members and has buttons to jump to other dialogs. From left to right, these buttons bring you to:
Due to Admin Privileges certain buttons might not be visible.
Groups can be selected by entering a part (fragment) of their name.
The list can be sortedor on group name.
Tap the button to (re)display the list.
A tap on the button resets the selection and sort fields to their default values.
Use the “minus” button to collapse the Select and Sort section.
Each Group List Item displays the number of enabled and disabled Group Roles, User Privileges and Admin Privileges objects with their respective icon. A green color means that the objects are enabled, a red color means they are disabled. A description of the objects is displayed as a tooltip when pointed to with the mouse. An example item is shown below.
Roles and Privileges that are resolved by User Group membership are shown in the User List Item of a member.
Select the groups to add and to remove and press the button to commit the selection.
The Group Edit Dialog has several sections. Press thebutton at the bottom to commit all changes.
In the Roles section you can set the user roles for group members. See Section 22.214.171.124, “User Roles” for an explanation of the roles and how role based user access works.
In the User Privileges section you can set group member access to User Web App domain objects. Privileges are set by means three-state buttons. An unselected grayed out button means “indeterminate”, plain unselected means “non-privileged” and selected means “privileged”. When a privilege on a domain object is selected a role like and might be selected, as well as extra actions like , and . The type of Roles and Actions offered depend on the type of domain object. This is how choices work out:
If PDF and Sort buttons are not displayed in the Main Page. When privileged:is non-privileged, the
not display the Sort button.role will display the PDF button if or action is enabled. Reader role will
role will display both PDF and Sort buttons.
If disabled the PDF button will not show.and actions are both
If User Details dialog is replaced with a simple indicator holding the id of the authenticated user.is non-privileged the footer button for the
If Personal Account for printing is not allowed. User can use Shared Accounts though, when permitted by Access Control. When printing with Personal and Shared Account is not permitted, role Print Job Creator is assumed, even when this role is explicitly selected.is non-privileged, use of
If Print Job Archive option is active: when is privileged, the user is allowed to (de) select the archive, when not, the Print Job will be silently archived. Beware, that these functions can be disabled for individual printers: see Section 4.8.2, “Edit Proxy Printer”.is privileged a Print Job will be silently journalled. When is privileged, the
If footer, the Transactions button will not show in the Log page, and Financial data will not show in the User Details dialog. When selected, the Reader and Editor role will display all. However, only the Editor role is allowed account transactions in the User Details dialog.is non-privileged, the account balance will not show in the
If Letterhead button is not displayed. When privileged the Reader and Editor role allows user to choose a Letterhead in the PDF and Print dialog. The Editor role allows users to add letterheads themselves. See Section 3.6, “Letterheads”.is non-privileged, the
The open spots left by buttons that are not displayed are taken by: the Upload button (moved from the footer), a Browse button pointing to the Browser, and an Info button (pointing to the About dialog), in that order. See Section 3.3.2, “Footer”.
This is how a privilege is evaluated on runtime:
To be compatible with existing installations the “indeterminate” state for top level group “All Users” is interpreted as fully “privileged”. Of course, privileges can also be set at "lower" group levels. When determining privileges for a domain object, SavaPage looks at the lowest group first, and bubbles up to higher groups till a “non-indeterminate” privilege for the domain object is found.
A denial of access due to a privilege takes precedence over any other configuration property.
In the Administrator Privileges section you can set group member access to Admin Web App domain objects. The objects correspond to the choices in the main menu. Any user with Administrator Role is assigned privileges by group membership.
Privileges are set and evaluated by means three-state buttons, just as User Privileges. For most domain objects a and role can be selected. Access to domain objects will be shown or hidden according to the privileges.
When New User Settings are enabled they are automatically applied upon User Creation for members of this group. Note that these settings do not affect existing user members. See the Financial section of the Edit User dialog for a description of the Balance and Credit Limit fields.
When a user belongs to multiple groups, the New User Settings of these groups is applied as follows:
The user is assigned an initial Balance that is the sum of the Initial Balances of all matching groups (with the exception of the Built-in Groups).
If any of the matching groups has Initial Credit Limit “None” the user is assigned this status.
Since the New User Settings are applied in alphabetical group name order, the Initial Credit Limit “Default” and “Individual” are assigned from the last group.
When a user does not belong to any group with New User Settings enabled, user is assigned the settings of the “External Users” or “Internal Users” Built-in Group (depending on the type of User Source).
New User Settings are not shown for Built-in Group “All Users” because they are never used.